17 07 20BHundF321
BHundF RIZ OG Technikum Teil2 01
22 03 16BHUNDF1522FIN
ZB651 05
22 03 16BHUNDF1778FIN
RMC 109
22 03 16BHUNDF2169FIN
17 07 20BHundF005
JTH 4135 01
22 03 15BHUNDF0224FIN
FUX BG 190516039B
22 03 16BHUNDF1982FIN
PCL EF 01
19 04 05BHundF0762

Designing what is necessary, creating surprising effects, proposing inspiring ideas: from concept to detail, we pursue a high standard of architectural quality in planning and implementation. Our work is versatile and has received numerous awards and prizes. Some of our building assignments may appear to be commonplace, they demand fitness for purpose, and often rationality. We are always driven by the search for a specific solution in a co-creational design process. 

PNW aussen

Competition win in Kassel

Our design was awarded 1st prize in the competition for the new building for physics and nanostructure sciences at the University of Kassel.
The jury's citation: "In a very natural way, the design is embedded in the polygonal principle of the urban master plan while developing new facets in the continuation of the campus. (...) Its great strength is seen in the inscription of a simple geometric structure in the basic pentagonal shape.
Overall, the work is credited with a clear stance and coherence. It responds to the complex questions of the brief with an effortless matter-of-factness in all aspects. The substantial concept ideas are carefully elaborated and technically supported. The design succeeds in striking a balance between the necessary ratio (laboratory building/technology) and distinct form (urban development) to create a coherent building typology with a low-key appearance".

PHS persp v2

University of Education, Freiburg im Breisgau

news 220503 AFS 1Preis

Competition win Anne Frank School

Our competition entry for the new building of the Anne Frank School in Karlsruhe was awarded 1st prize.
The jury's verdict: "...Along the main axis, a staggered sequence of open courtyards develops, which at the same time offer orientation, reciprocal lighting and direct access to open space. The ground plan structure creates an exciting system of spaces and paths, which on the one hand creates order and clarity, and on the other hand enables a variety of connections and visual references. On the upper floors, cluster-like spatial units develop, structured by the incisions of the courtyards, which are convincing in their clear allocation of space, but remain fundamentally flexible in their use. They are each accessed via the central central circulation via address-forming entrances, but also allow cross-references via the outdoor areas designed as learning terraces. Despite the clear grid, which is the plausible basis for an economical timber construction, a complex interior/exterior structure develops that promises both open and specific teaching and learning situations."

ZB651 02

Kita im Park, Stuttgart

We have a lot of experience in working for various institutions, including the public sector, in state and grant construction. The lively exchange with our clients, specialist planners, occupants, and contractors leads to a constantly growing pool of knowledge in our practice. This is the basis of our daily work.

news 220407 HolzbauKompakt

Cycle-effective building turnaround with wood

The "Holzbau Kompakt" series of events organised by the Holzforum Allgäu is an information and qualification platform dedicated to the diverse applications and high performance of wood as a building material on four evenings. On 7 April 2022 (6 p.m.), Prof. Stephan Birk will explain in his lecture "Kreislaufeffektive Bauwende mit Holz" (Cycle-effective building turnaround with wood) how to design and construct renovations, extensions and new buildings so that they can be used as urban mines at the end of a long life cycle.

BHundF RIZ OG Technikum Teil2 01 v2

Winner German University Building Award 2022

The Regional Innovation Centre for Energy Technology (RIZ) at Offenburg University of Applied Sciences wins the German University Building Award 2022! The prize is awarded by the German University Foundation under the patronage of the Federal Ministry of Building: "The prize is awarded to exemplary university buildings or ensembles, whether they are new buildings, renovations or modernisations, which demonstrate a special architectural quality or exemplary handling of historical building fabric. They should combine aesthetic and functional aspects in an outstanding way, be attractive as university buildings for students and lecturers, be committed to sustainable building in ecological, economic and socio-cultural terms, and make a positive contribution to the design of public space. In the course of the worldwide efforts to reduce CO2 emissions and the necessity of resource-saving construction, holistic concepts are to be awarded that combine forward-looking architectural design and quality of use with highly energy-efficient measures.This is intended to provide suggestions for future planning and to draw the attention of a broad public to the current and future concerns of sustainable construction in the sense of building culture." We are pleased to have met these criteria with the RIZ!

FUX BG 190531064

FUX Start-up Centre, Karlsruhe

BRK BHundF aussenperspektive v2

DLR Company Restaurant and Conference Centre, Oberpfaffenhofen

news 210401 TUM

Stephan Birk appointed to TUM

As of April 2021, Prof. Stephan Birk will directly succeed Prof. Hermann Kaufmann and take over the Professorship of Architecture and Timber Construction at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). "It is an important yet demanding time to be an architect, and a great challenge to be involved in education. Faced with the climate crisis and the very fundamental question of how may we build, both research and teaching take on a central role. Participating actively in this change is part of my motivation and vision for the engagement at TUM," Birk states.

JTH 4135 03

Jüberg tower, Hemer

19 04 05BHundF0624

17 07 20BHundF321
BHundF RIZ OG Technikum Teil2 01
22 03 16BHUNDF1522FIN
ZB651 05
22 03 16BHUNDF1778FIN
RMC 109
22 03 16BHUNDF2169FIN
17 07 20BHundF005
JTH 4135 01
22 03 15BHUNDF0224FIN
FUX BG 190516039B
22 03 16BHUNDF1982FIN
PCL EF 01
19 04 05BHundF0762

Notwendiges gestalten, Überraschendes erzeugen, Anregendes bieten: Vom Konzept bis ins Detail verfolgen wir in der Planung sowie der Umsetzung einen hohen Anspruch an die architektonische Qualität. Unser Werk ist vielfältig und hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise gewonnen. Manche unserer Bauaufgaben scheinen alltäglich, fordern Gebrauchstauglichkeit, oft Rationalität. Immer treibt uns in einem dialogischen Entwurfsprozess die Suche nach einer spezifischen Lösung an.

PNW aussen

Wettbewerbsgewinn in Kassel

Unsere Entwurf wurde beim Wettbewerb um den Neubau der Physik und Nanostrukturwissenschaften der Universität Kassel mit dem 1. Preis ausgezeichnet. Die Jury urteilt: "Die Arbeit bettet sich ganz selbstverständlich in das polygonale Prinzip des städtebaulichen Masterplans ein und entwickelt darüber hinaus neue Facetten bei der Fortschreibung des Campus. (...) Die große Stärke wird im Einschreiben einer einfachen geometrischen Struktur in die pentagonale Grundform gesehen.
Insgesamt werden der Arbeit klare Haltung und Stimmigkeit attestiert. Auf die komplexen Fragen der Aufgabenstellung antwortet die Arbeit allseitig mit unangestrengter Selbstverständlichkeit. Die gehaltvollen Konzeptideen sind sorgfältig ausgearbeitet sowie technisch untersetzt. Dem Entwurf gelingt es an dieser Stelle, aus dem Spagat zwischen notwendiger Ratio (Laborbau/Technik) und prägnanter Form (Städtebau) zu einer schlüssigen Gebäudetypologie mit zurückhaltendem Auftritt zu gelangen."

PHS persp v2

Pädagogische Hochschule, Freiburg im Breisgau

news 220503 AFS 1Preis

1. Preis für Anne-Frank-Schule

Unser Wettbewerbsbeitrag für den Neubau der Anne-Frank-Schule in Karlsruhe erhält den 1. Preis. 
Die Jury urteilt: "...Entlang der Hauptachse entwickelt sich eine versetzt angeordnete Abfolge von offenen Höfen, die gleichzeitig Orientierung, wechselseitige Belichtung und direkten Freiraumbezug bieten. Als Grundrissstruktur entsteht ein spannungsvolles Raum- und Wegesystem, das einerseits Ordnung und Übersichtlichkeit erzeugt, andererseits vielfältige Verbindungs- und Sichtbezüge ermöglicht. In den Obergeschossen entwickeln sich gegliedert durch die Einschnitte der Höfe clusterartige Raumeinheiten, die in sich in ihren eindeutigen Flächenzuordnungen überzeugen, aber grundsätzlich flexibel in der Nutzung bleiben. Über die zentrale Mittelerschließung werden sie jeweils über adressbildende Zugänge erschlossen, erlauben aber auch Querbezüge über die als Lernterrassen ausgebildeten Außenbereiche.
Trotz der klaren Rasterung, die die plausible Grundlage für einen wirtschaftlichen Holzbau darstellt, entwickelt sich ein komplexes Innen/Außenraumgefüge, das sowohl offene als auch spezifische Lehr- und Lernsituationen verspricht."

ZB651 02

Kita im Park, Stuttgart

Wir verfügen über viel Erfahrung in der Arbeit für verschiedene Institutionen, unter anderem für die öffentliche Hand, im Landes- und Zuwendungsbau. Der rege Austausch mit unseren Auftraggebenden, den Fachplanungsdisziplinen, der Nutzerschaft sowie mit den ausführenden Firmen führt zu einem stetig wachsenden Wissenspool in unserem Büro. Das ist die Basis unserer täglichen Arbeit.

news 220407 HolzbauKompakt

Kreislaufeffektive Bauwende mit Holz

Die Veranstaltungsreihe "Holzbau Kompakt" des Holzforums Allgäu widmet sich als Informations- und Qualifizierungsplattform an vier Abenden den vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten und der hohen Leistungsfähigkeit des Baustoffs Holz. Am 7. April 2022 (18 Uhr) erläutert Prof. Stephan Birk im Rahmen seines Vortrages "Kreislaufeffektive Bauwende mit Holz" wie Sanierungen, Aufstockungen und Neubauten zu entwerfen und zu konstruieren sind, dass sie am Ende eines langen Lebenszyklus als urbane Minen genutzt werden können.

BHundF RIZ OG Technikum Teil2 01 v2

Gewinner Deutscher Hochschulbaupreis 2022

Das Regionale Innovationszentrum für Energietechnik (RIZ) der Hochschule Offenburg gewinnt den Deutschen Hochschulbaupreis 2022! Ausloberin des Preises ist die Deutsche Universitätsstiftung, unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesbauministeriums: "Mit dem Preis werden beispielhafte Hochschulgebäude oder -ensembles ausgezeichnet, die eine besondere baukulturelle Qualität aufweisen bzw. von vorbildlichem Umgang mit historischer Bausubstanz zeugen. Sie sollen in herausragender Weise ästhetische und funktionale Gesichtspunkte vereinen, als Hochschulgebäude für Studierende und Hochschullehrende attraktiv und dem nachhaltigen Bauen in ökologischer, ökonomischer und soziokultureller Hinsicht verpflichtet sein sowie positiv zur Gestaltung des öffentlichen Raumes beitragen. Im Zuge der weltweiten Bemühungen um eine Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen und der Notwendigkeit eines Ressourcen schonenden Bauens sollen ganzheitliche Konzeptionen ausgezeichnet werden, die eine zukunftsweisende architektonische Gestalt- und Nutzungsqualität mit hoch energieeffizienten Maßnahmen vereinen (...)." Wir freuen uns, mit dem RIZ diesen Kriterien gerecht geworden zu sein!

FUX BG 190531064

Festigungs- und Expansionszentrum, Karlsruhe

BRK BHundF aussenperspektive v2

DLR Betriebsrestaurant und Konferenzzentrum, Oberpfaffenhofen

news 210401 TUM

Stephan Birk an die TUM berufen

Zum April 2021 tritt Prof. Stephan Birk die direkte Nachfolge von Prof. Hermann Kaufmann an und übernimmt die Professur für Architektur und Holzbau an der Technischen Universität München. „Es ist eine wichtige und fordernde Zeit, Architekt/ in zu sein und eine große Herausforderung, in der Ausbildung mitzuwirken. Vor dem Hintergrund der Klimakrise und der ganz grundsätzlichen Frage, wie dürfen wir bauen, nehmen Forschung und Lehre eine zentrale Rolle ein. Mich an dieser Veränderung intensiv zu beteiligen, ist Teil meiner Motivation und Vision für das Engagement an der TUM.“, so Birk.

JTH 4135 03

Jübergturm, Hemer

19 04 05BHundF0624